Tuesday Tip: Using Coupon Databases

Every week, I post the weekly sale-coupon matchups up for Kroger, Publix, Harris Teeter, and CVS. These lists show all the items that are on sale, along with the coupons that are currently available. That’s all good and great… and we know that the best deals are on sale items for which we have a coupon.

But what about the items you need that just aren’t on sale? Often, to fulfill my meal plan, I just need an item or two that just isn’t on sale. Today’s Tuesday Tip helps you solve this problem by using a coupon database.

If there is an item I need (sans most produce and meat) that isn’t on sale, I still don’t want to pay full price if I don’t have to. I would love a coupon, but I don’t know if I have one in my massive pile of inserts, mailers, and blinkie coupons. Instead of spending the time flipping through my pile just to find one coupon, I go straight to the coupon database. Search for the item and see if there is a coupon available.

Here’s an example. I really need some bagels to make some pizza bagels. They are not on sale this week and my stock has ran out. I need it, but I might-as-well get it for cheaper. I go to the coupon database, type in bagels and find several coupons available:

-$1.00/1 Thomas Bagels in Maxwell House Breakfast booklet
-$0.75/1 Nature’s Own Thin Sliced Bagels printable
-$0.55/1 Sara Lee Soft & Smooth Bread, Buns, or Mini Bagels printable
-$0.55/1 Sara Lee Soft & Smooth Bread, Buns, or Mini Bagels RP 2/21
-$0.55/1 Little Lender’s or Lender’s 100 Calorie Bagels printable
-$0.55/1 Little Lender’s or Lender’s 100 Calorie Bagels March All You Mag
-$1.00/2 Lender’s Bagels blinkie
-$0.35/1 Healthy Life Bread, Buns, Bagels or English Muffins SS 2?7
-$1.00/1 Thomas’ Honey Wheat English Muffins or Bagels March All You Mag

Not bad! I could save up $1.00 off my bagel purchase. And I have multiple options depending on what coupons I have in my stash. I would probably bring as many options as I have to the store and see what the best deal is. Got my bagels, got them for cheaper. I like it!

Some coupon databases I use most often are:

If you’re not sure what some of the abbreviations you find mean, check out the Coupon Lingo page!

0 Responses to “Tuesday Tip: Using Coupon Databases”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

MISS Q…

Miss Q is here to save your money and your time! The site will offer you not only store match-ups, but recipes, tips, and freebies designed specifically for singles and couples. Click around, try it out, and begin your savings journey.

Useful Links

UPCOMING CLASSES

Click on the "Classes" tab for new information about upcoming Workshops and Penny Parties!

TOTAL SAVINGS

Since May 2009...
Total Spent: $1007.09
Total Savings: $3,414.44
Percent Saved: 77%

BLOG STATS

  • 121,997 hits

