Tuesday Tip: On Couponing…

I’ve been thinking about and mulling over many of the response that I’ve received from the blog.  This has become a fascinating project to embark on.  Many questions have come up about why and how I do this, so I wanted to share some general “couponing” advice.  Here goes:

  • Take it slow. This is not an all-or-nothing deal.  Shopping sales, meal planning, coupon clipping, and freebie collecting can all make a difference to the bottom line individually.  As a group, big savings result.  However, they cannot be added to your routine in one fell swoop.  It’s a process and if you’re anything like me, you need to slow down.  Your system will become more efficient and sufficient for your needs.
  • Pennies add up. The small savings of one or two coupons does add up.  The more the merrier!  On that same note…
  • Don’t lose it over a coupon. I often find myself frustrated over not being able to locate a specific coupon or my fritzy computer not letting me print one coupon.  I shouldn’t feel this way and you shouldn’t either.  A few pennies either way, in the grand scheme of things, don’t matter in comparison to your sanity.
  • Do what you can, when you can. Some weeks I’m too busy and/or exhausted to go through my normal routine.  Sometimes you just need a break.  Buy what you need and wait for the next week or next month to begin again.  Money saved now is still money in the bank later.
  • Make it a game. I’ve treated couponing as a game since the beginning.  Each week I challenge myself to spend less and get more.  I come out of the store feeling like a champion (and no one else has to know!)
  • Share your success. Comment on this site, call your mom (she’d be proud), or write it in your journal.  Feel success over any amount saved!

You have got to find a system that works for you.  It won’t be my system, but I hope that this site helps you figure out your own.  Leave a comment with your progress, your successes, or your lingering questions.  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

MISS Q…

Miss Q is here to save your money and your time! The site will offer you not only store match-ups, but recipes, tips, and freebies designed specifically for singles and couples. Click around, try it out, and begin your savings journey.

Useful Links

UPCOMING CLASSES

Click on the "Classes" tab for new information about upcoming Workshops and Penny Parties!

TOTAL SAVINGS

Since May 2009...
Total Spent: $1007.09
Total Savings: $3,414.44
Percent Saved: 77%

BLOG STATS

  • 121,949 hits

