Tuesday Tip: Slowly Decreasing Your Budget

If you’ve been following along with the “coupon journey,” maybe you are now wondering why you aren’t seeing a decrease in your grocery money.  I recall being so frustrated with couponing initially because I was spending MORE than my pre-couponing days!  Here are my ideas on the issue:

  • You have to keep in mind this is a gradual process. You are now buying more food (to add to your stockpile).  BUT you are buying items at their lowest price, a much better deal than you were getting before.  So try to be patient – it’s a process.
  • Plan your weekly menu around your stockpile (all the best deals). Add your “needs” to complete your meal plan.  As your stockpile grows, your needs for the week decrease.  That means less items you have to buy at their full price.
  • Less items at full price means more room for good deals. You’re leftover budgeted money should go to the best deals to build your stockpile.  More stockpile, less needs.  It’s a wonderful cycle!
  • Stick with your pre-couponing buget for at least one month. This will give you time to build your stockpile with sales and coupons and experiment.
  • Lower your budget about 10% after one month. At this point, buy your needs first.  Then the best deals without going over your set amount.
  • Continue decreasing by 5-10% each month or couple of months. After about 4-6 months, it becomes a game of how low you can go.

This can be frustrating and somewhat disheartening initially.  But it works!  My pre-couponing days saw weekly grocery bills of $60-80.  I’m now at $15, six months later.  I tell you my numbers just to give you an idea, but don’t fret.  Get to a place you’re comfortable with and enjoy the weekly challenge.

2 Responses to “Tuesday Tip: Slowly Decreasing Your Budget”


  1. 1 Leslie January 24, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Great ideas! Before I was a couponer I usually spent $150 or far more for my family of 5 each week. This year I set my goal at $100 a week for all grocery, household, personal care items and newspapers. At first I wondered if it was too low but now I’m finding that I can absolutely get by with less than that even. I like your idea of gradually lowering the goal to see how low you can go.


  1. 1 Tuesday Tips: Creating your Stockpile « Miss Q to the Rescue Trackback on February 9, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Leave a Reply

MISS Q…

Miss Q is here to save your money and your time! The site will offer you not only store match-ups, but recipes, tips, and freebies designed specifically for singles and couples. Click around, try it out, and begin your savings journey.

Useful Links

UPCOMING CLASSES

Click on the "Classes" tab for new information about upcoming Workshops and Penny Parties!

TOTAL SAVINGS

Since May 2009...
Total Spent: $1007.09
Total Savings: $3,414.44
Percent Saved: 77%

BLOG STATS

  • 121,953 hits

