Miss Q’s Hall of Fame

For those of you that have to see to believe…

5-22-09 Publix $50.37

5-22-09 @ Publix
spent: $50.37
saved $155.72

7-12-09 CVS $2.71

7-12-09 @ CVS
spent: $2.71
saved: $65.77
Got back $10.97 in ECB

7-12-09 Publix $13.19

7-12-09 @ Publix
spent: $13.19
saved: $68.06

8-6-09 Publix $6.94

8-6-09 @ Publix
spent: $6.94
saved: $42.27

8-28-09 Kroger $9.85

8-28-09 @ Kroger
spent: $9.85
saved: $91.42

Don’t stop believin’!
signature

7 Responses to “Miss Q’s Hall of Fame”


  1. 1 Monique January 2, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Can we see pictures of receipts for these saved amounts? I find it very hard to believe you saved $91 on what I can buy from the store for $50 without coupons in the northeast.

  2. 2 Matt January 5, 2010 at 1:08 am

    I’m agreeing with Monique, and also not seeing how the items in the picture can even possibly amount to the full prices listed. Where are you shopping?? Maybe your strategy should be shopping at places with cheaper initial costs. Might not “save” as much, but who cares how much you save if you’re paying less in the first place. Also, are you actually using all of those products? Seems like this could get pretty wasteful… buying excessive amounts of random things just to prove a point.

  3. 3 wade419 January 5, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Hi, I’m Miss Q’s boyfriend, and the other half of the grocery budget. It’s understandable to find her savings unbelievable – I didn’t believe them myself until I saw her in action. Maybe a little clarification would help (sorry if I go long!).

    These “savings” are numbers given by the grocery store, and printed on the receipt. They include discounts from sale prices and coupons. Hardly anyone goes through a store and pays full price for *everything* in their cart, so the full prices do seem high. Miss Q takes shopping the sales a few steps further, organizing coupons and matchups to maximize her deals, which brings that price down much further than your average shopper would pay.

    Of course, what’s the point in a good deal if you’re not gonna use the item? Every item you see is either used, frozen for later, given to friends or donated to a food bank. Everything is put to good use! Our grocery budget, combined, is less than $30 a week. She generally does the shopping, and we split the bill, making my grocery budget $15 a week. I make all sorts of great, healthy meals at my apartment and have plenty to snack on for the entire week, all for the price of one reasonable pasta dish at a restaurant. Yes, some things are saved – they’re stockpiled for use when the item can’t be found at a great price. The only “random things” she actually gets overage on – the store pays her to take things off their shelves! Since you’d get a lot of those items, they can be easily donated or given away.

    Finally, Miss Q primarily shops at Publix, Kroger, Harris Teeter and CVS. She lists her stores on every post. Other stores do have cheaper prices on certain items, such as Aldi, a store that doesn’t accept coupons. The bottom line is to keep the budget down, so she gets what’s cheapest at Aldi at Aldi, and what’s cheapest at Publix at Publix.

    Also, keep in mind that Miss Q created this blog after many of her friends continually asked her how she managed to spend so little on groceries. The purpose is to help others spend less. You can learn her strategies if you like, and incorporate any into your shopping habits if you think it would help.

    Wade

  4. 4 Bargain Brown January 16, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Way to go Miss Q! I totally appreciate your savings! The 2 best records I have to date is Kroger bill 198.00 before savings/coupons and 84.00 after. Then a Kmart bill for 47.00 before Q’s and -0.42 cents after, which since the register won’t allow them to pay me to take it from the store, I ended up purchasing a pack of hubba bubba!

    It is possible to save this much. I find it unfortunate that others request “proof”, If they can find cheaper items for less without coupons, then more power to them!

    I guess you don’t have to gather items, take pictures and supply tips. Each to their own.

    I never got into coupons so seriously till as of last year,

  5. 5 Leslie January 24, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Thanks for sharing your pics and ideas with others. It’s blogs like yours that inspired me and where I learned how to save and be a “couponer” just a couple of months ago. And I agree with your boyfriend that the point of buying multiples of items is because you are buying when the price is the lowest, you stockpile(in your pantry or freezer) so that you then don’t need to buy more of that item until it’s again at it’s lowest. Why buy cereal for $3.00 a box every week when you can buy it for $0.50 or $1.00 a bos (and buy several) to last all month or for 6 months. Can’t wait to read more of your blog!

  6. 6 JenniferinCali February 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I love Ms. Q!!! Thanks for sharing your experiences. I’ve learned so much after only having discovered your website yesterday. I am so inspired and truly thankful for the time you take to help the rest of us save like you. I was into couponing years ago, but never to this extent. I just recently got back into it at 31 (family of 5) and I feel like I have a new sense of control over my finances. And on top of that, we never have to sacrifice quality and usually have more than enough in quantity! My family and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

    Jennifer

  7. 7 Lindsi May 21, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Ok, I’m usually a quiet stalker, checking out the store match-ups and then heading back to email/facebook/blog of the week. But tonight I decided to peruse your tips & tricks section and found this amazing piece of savings evidence! (Very impressive!)But then I saw the nasty little comments questioning the validity of your savings. Seriously?!
    Yes, I’m a little late on the response, but I just wanted you to know that I love your blog and you’ve helped me save so much already! And the naysayers are just trying to justify their lack of motivation in coupon clipping by implying your savings aren’t legit. Don’t let them get you down and keep up the amazing work!


Leave a Reply

MISS Q…

Miss Q is here to save your money and your time! The site will offer you not only store match-ups, but recipes, tips, and freebies designed specifically for singles and couples. Click around, try it out, and begin your savings journey.

Useful Links

UPCOMING CLASSES

Click on the "Classes" tab for new information about upcoming Workshops and Penny Parties!

TOTAL SAVINGS

Since May 2009...
Total Spent: $1007.09
Total Savings: $3,414.44
Percent Saved: 77%

BLOG STATS

  • 122,043 hits

